National Debating Championships St. John's, Newfoundland October 31, 2004

Meeting Called to order at 10 pm on October 31st in St. John's.

Voting Members Present:

Simon Lono - NF Harold Kyte - NS Chris George - PQ Ken Johnston - ON Linda Martin - MB Brent Ransom - AB Lorelie De Roose - SK Tracey Lee - BC

Non-Voting Participants Present:

Brian Casey Josh Judah Susie Choi Andrew Bigg Rachel McCabe

Motion to change the bracketing structure of the CNDC.

Moved by Ontario and seconded by Quebec that the first two prepared rounds will continue to be randomly paired, and will be followed by 3 bracketed rounds based on Win-Loss, followed by a bracketed break to hidden quarter-finals.

Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to adopt the 'By-laws of the CNDC' as proposed by Chris George.

Long debate resulted in the following main major amendments:

- With the exception of necessary definitions existing out of the original CNDC guidelines, all of 'Part A' to be struck.
- A Board of Governors will now be elected by the provincial members to oversee the consistent execution of the CNDC. Board to consist of 4 (See attached file: Champs_bylaws-revised.doc) elected Governors plus the upcoming Tournament Chair.
- Duties of Board largely as proposed, with a focus on approving the decisions of the Tournament Chair rather than initiating them.
- Board to appoint an Appeals Adjudicator at CNDC to have the final say on any debate-related appeals or protests during the event.
- Ken J. is to revise the new constitution as determined by the members, and to make necessary 'housekeeping' amendments based on consensus during the debate (i.e. changing reference of directors to governors, including definitions from old guidelines, rewording agreed revisions, renumbering clauses, etc.).

Amended motion carried unanimously.

Motion to elect Board of Governors:

Harold Kyte, Josh Judah, John Robinson and Simon Lono elected. Chris George appointed to the Board as the Upcoming Tournament Chair.

Meeting adjourned at 12 a.m..